Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Why Avg Power > Norm Power?
Quote | Reply
Hey gang - I'm new to the NP readings, but it seems everything I find online indicates that unless you're doing intervals or collect data on a short ride, Normalized Power should almost always be equal to or higher than Average Power. I went for a little 60 miler today on a relatively flat out/back course to try it out. Average Power over that period was 190 and Normalized Power was 176?

Any tips/suggestions? By the way, I use the Garmin 910XT and have it set not to include zeroes.

Thanks!!
Quote Reply
Re: Why Avg Power > Norm Power? [Ironcoop] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ironcoop wrote:
have it set not to include zeroes.

This. Include the zeros.
Quote Reply
Re: Why Avg Power > Norm Power? [Karl.n] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Gotcha - so the reason the avg is higher in this case is that I'm pulling the zeroes out of the AP but leaving them in the NP? I would have thought the "eliminate zeroes" setting would eliminate from both but maybe not part of the algorithym.

Thanks. Makes sense if that's the case.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Ironcoop wrote:
Gotcha - so the reason the avg is higher in this case is that I'm pulling the zeroes out of the AP but leaving them in the NP? I would have thought the "eliminate zeroes" setting would eliminate from both but maybe not part of the algorithym.

You paid money for a powermeter, get the best data from it, make sure your record zero and also turn off auto-pause. I do not know why they even give you that option.
Quote Reply
Re: Why Avg Power > Norm Power? [chaparral] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
chaparral wrote:
Ironcoop wrote:

You paid money for a powermeter, get the best data from it, make sure your record zero and also turn off auto-pause. I do not know why they even give you that option.