Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Wheel Picker?
Quote | Reply
There's a lot going on with bike wheels these days.

There's the never ending debate on dare I say 'tubbie vs clincher'
There's the newer fat rim sea change
There's the Chinese wheel thing
There's 'will it fit MY bike'
There's the whole 'value' argement
And not to forget the wind tunnel test data fiasco or the supplier advertizing question.

Sooooooo, is there a "wheel picker" site or spreadsheet or whatever?

I'm about to be in the market for some new race wheels. My tri bikes are changing from 650 to 700 and I need new wheels.

I'm old fat and slow. I'm not so much concerned with winning or beating anyone else, but going as fast as I can (so there's still beer left at the beer tent when I finish). I work for a living, but not as a lawyer (read I'm limited with price). I don't want the expense and hassle of tubbies, etc etc etc.

I want a deep-ish set of carbon wheels, say 60mm or so up front and maybe 90 out back (I'll only get one set of race wheels). I want clincher, ali braking surface, about 20 spokes radially laced in front (assumed bladed SS spokes) and 28 spokes for the rear. With wide (but how wide?) rims an dprobably 25mm tires.

what wheels do I want (on a budget but not necessarily cheapes) for my 2013 Cervelo P2?

A wheel picker would be ideal. Any hints?

TriDork

"Happiness is a myth. All you can hope for is to get laid once in a while, drunk once in a while and to eat chocolate every day"
Quote Reply
Re: Wheel Picker? [tridork] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You know I've thought about building a wheel picker javascript app for a web page, but I shit you not it would go like this?

Are you doing an uphill *only* time trial?

Yes -> Us zipp 303 tubulars or similar
No -> Use a disc rear and as deep of a front wheel as you are comfortable handling.

It would say that every time! So kind of a dumb app.