Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

What's your experience with "cooling gear"?
Quote | Reply
I know DeSoto have "cooling" products available (I have the arm coolers) and Columbia has "omni freeze" (I have no experience), and I'm sure there are others. The arm coolers are unremarkable to me, but I'm wondering if others have opinions based on personal experience with any of these products. Anything you swear by? All gimmicks? A handful and hatful of ice at aid stations is my usual solution, but is any of the gear out there impressive? I thought this article was interesting: http://freetrispeed.com/...-about-cooling-gear/
Quote Reply
Re: What's your experience with "cooling gear"? [nitrox] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Interesting article. I read once that a pro used a vinyl glove at Louisville one year, filled it with ice.
I tried it the next year and worked beautifully, like the article says, a little radiator for the body.
Great idea.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I used handheld ice packs on the run for an oly triathlon in Kona and thought they kicked butt. I don't remember the brand, they have a velcro strap that fastens around the back of your hand and holds a small ice pack (covered with a good, wicking material) in place on your palm, and I found out about them after reading how Conrad Stolz had used them in a hot, humid race in Alabama. They worked great. I really noticed a difference training and racing with them and they weren't an issue grabbing nutrition from aid stations either (keep the velcro straps just loose enough to flip the ice pack around to the back of your hand to grab a cup).
Quote Reply
Re: What's your experience with "cooling gear"? [GrisGris] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That sounds really interesting - a quick search leads me here on Amazon - something like this? http://www.amazon.com/...urance/dp/B007MJSVFI
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply