Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
What %FTP for a 7mile TT? Skinsuit suggestions...
Quote | Reply
I have zero experience at that distance. What would be a good power target? 105% of FTP? I know this is dependent, to some degree, on expected duration. For reference I just did a sprint a few weeks ago, 12.4miles, NP 241w, 29:28 with some shenanigans at both mount and dismount :p For what it's worth, that was about at my current ftp. I just guessed that would work at that distance and it worked out as I felt good on the run (still slow, lol).

I'm also looking for some skinsuit recommendations as I'm going to do six or seven TTs this year. Nothing too pricey as this is just for fun. Maybe track down a 2.0 version of the Body Paint or the LG Elite Course? Anything else? I know, I know, it has to fit...
Quote Reply
Re: What %FTP for a 7mile TT? Skinsuit suggestions... [GreenPlease] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
There is no target, just go. That's 15 (ish) minutes of riding. Skinsuit should be tight, other than that no specific recommendations. A BP3 skinsuit only saved me .02-.05 cda vs a two piece tri suit.
Quote Reply
Re: What %FTP for a 7mile TT? Skinsuit suggestions... [GreenPlease] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What %FTP? I think for a 7mile TT your goal should be to go as hard as you can. I can't imagine a whole lot of pacing going on over a 15ish minute effort.

Rodney
TrainingPeaks | Altra Running | RAD Roller
http://www.goinglong.ca
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'd say 110%. looking at 15-18min at most for a TT. well, that is what I do when I am fit. when things are off(ticker issues), closer to 107%

BP 2 or 3, as well might be pricier, you know they are likely to be skin tight and not wrinkled/baggy and cover arms. just don't use pins on a 3.0 if you get one of those
Quote Reply
Re: What %FTP for a 7mile TT? Skinsuit suggestions... [James Haycraft] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
James Haycraft wrote: