Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
What's your recommendation for a road bike under $3.2k
Quote | Reply
I saw a few recent posts, but could use a bit more specificity. I have zero experience with road bikes so I could use the collective wisdom of ST. I'll be using it to race crits and draft-legal races. I currently ride a felt IA size 52.

Only one stipulation, it has to be a new bike.

I'm looking at

Specialized Sprint Allez
Scott Foil 20
Scott Addict RC 20
Felt AR5
Felt FR

So what would you buy/recommend in a price range under $3,200 and why? What am I missing? Thanks.

just your average age grouper . no one special . no scientific knowledge . just having fun.
Quote Reply
Re: What's your recommendation for a road bike under $3.2k [way2sloow] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Aero bikes are just plain faster unless you are climbing something really steep and can save significant weight with a non-aero bike. The Foil 20 might be a bit more of an all around bike but the AR, with a decent handlebar is within a couple watts of the fastest road frames out there (Madone 9 or Venge Vias).
Quote Reply
Re: What's your recommendation for a road bike under $3.2k [way2sloow] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If you are racing criteriums, I would get the Allez. It seems like itÂ’s aluminum frame would hold up better in crashes.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I would get a Fuji Transonic. It tested only 1w slower than the newest S5 in a Tour wind tunnel test and the Transonic had the deficit of a round base bar. I'd get one of the 105 models and change out the front and rear to direct mount EE brakes, swap the base bar, and then get a set of Hed Jet 6 wheels.

http://www.performancebike.com/...:&pageSize:&
Quote Reply
Re: What's your recommendation for a road bike under $3.2k [grumpier.mike] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply