Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Waterman's Half. Near IMMD. Not Canceled--What to Wear?
Quote | Reply
The Waterman's Half is on Saturday, near the IMMD area but on higher ground (apparently), and the swim is in a protected harbor. Also, it looks like the storm is tracking out to sea. They are still a go as of 4PM today. This is my first Half, so I have been desperately hoping it is a go. I live in the DC area, and there is a propensity for panic when storms come, so I commend the organization for being patient. I also completely understand IMMD having to cancel. Waterman's is a small race with mostly locals--much easier to wait to decide. Maybe I shouldn't have even mentioned any of this. I have no interest in igniting a debate. I really just want to know what I need to wear to finish this thing:

It looks like 55-61 degrees with 20-23mph winds and maybe light rain for the bike. I have no experience doing a tri in anything but hot. I figure I will wear a wind/rain jacket over the kit, maybe arm warmers, but my legs?? All I have are winter bibs and that seems a bit much. I really only have tonight to get anything. 3/4 knickers maybe? I would like to not run to the store and spend $150, but I also don't want to be 20 miles into the ride and freezing my wet ass off.

And for the run, I figure I will play by ear. Maybe a fresh dry top and some tights?

I will probably end up hauling a duffel into transition full of clothes, towels and trash bags...
Quote Reply
Re: Waterman's Half. Near IMMD. Not Canceled--What to Wear? [nickfresh] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ill have a go:

1) neoprene toe covers. You dont need the whole bootie, just the toe covers. The full booties have never seemed to keep things as warm for me in Maine.
2) Throw a contractor garbage bag on you bike. It is small(ish) yet very tough as a poncho. If needed, wear it under your jersey to keep things aero.
3) fingered gloves.
4) Arm warmers