Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Wahoo Kickr resistance problem in standard / level resistance mode (resolved)
Quote | Reply
Big wahoo kickr fan and love it even more when combined with trainer road. My wife and I have been riding the kickr with training road for a few months now. Each of us has performed tons of ERG mode workouts, and a FTP test each, which switches between ERG and standard / level resistance mode.

Last week when re-testing my FTP through training road, when the kickr switched to standard mode level 3 of 9, the resistance was so incredible, that i could hardly keep 70 cadence (my comfortable cadence is about 95) and that 70 cadence was producing 350+ watts. I couldn't hold the resistance for more than 20 seconds at a time. Keep in mind, neither my wife nor I had this issue the first time we both tested our FTP. I was maintaining 95 cadence throughout the entire test. This time, when the test had the kickr go from ERG to standard / level, the resistance was so great I couldn't maintain 70 cadence for more than 20 seconds.

I stopped the workout and conducted the following tests:
1. I switched back to ERG mode and did a ERG mode workout. Varying watts from 150 - 250 were all accomplished with ease and a cadence of 95. Switched back to standard level 3 and I couldn't hold 70 cadence for more than 20 seconds.
2. I tried standard / level resistance 0 of 9, and again, by the time I got to 70 cadence, my watts were 300 and I couldn't maintain for more than 20 seconds. Resistance level 0 of 9.
3. I disconnected and reconnected all devices through their pairings, still the same thing (70 cadence could only be held for seconds).
4. Unplugged all power, let sit for a few minutes, plugged back in, same problem (70 cadence could only be held for seconds).
5. Attempted to run trainer road software from wife's laptop, same problem.
6. Attempted to run level resistance from wahoo utility on my cell phone, same problem.