Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Tubular Spare/Fix a flat for IM
Quote | Reply
I borrowed someone's Zipp wheels for next weekend and they are tubulars which I have never used before. I could borrow a spare tire but dont know that I want to mess with changing it anyway if I needed to and would probably take me forever. I know they are less prone to flat than clinchers, but wondering what the best plan is as a backup.

How often does race support usually come around? And will they have spares and help change or only help change if you have a spare?

I know there are some products like the slime stuff you spray in and then can refill the tire with Co2. Depending on how far into the race, does that fix most flats and would it be a pretty good solution rather than carrying the spare?
Quote Reply
Re: Tubular Spare/Fix a flat for IM [the V] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The first thing most folks will try is a can of vittoria pitstop or similar (the slime stuff you refer to).
If that doesn't work, time to rip the old tire off, pull the new one on, and inflate with co2.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Thanks guys. Is that a good enough approach to bank on this stuff and then wait for support if it comes to that?
Just dont think I am re-gluing a tire quick for the first time. But would like to use these wheels instead of stock ones for the speed gain.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Pitstop will generally do the trick unless you have a pretty serious gash. You might need an additional co2 after using the pit stop though depending on how quickly it seals. don't even worry about taking an extra tubular tire.
Quote Reply
Re: Tubular Spare/Fix a flat for IM [runbikebeer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thomas Gerlach has a good write up on his blog about tubular spares.

http://www.thomasgerlach.com/2011/10/gold-standard-gear-best-tubular-spare.html

Quote Reply
Re: Tubular Spare/Fix a flat for IM [MDSICT] [ In reply to ]