Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Trying to fit a 70.3 around a weird schedule in 2016, help please
Quote | Reply
Hello everyone,

I have a 70.3 in late June of next year, and I'm trying to schedule it around work, family and school. I have tried to do this a few times in the past and have not had much luck; but I'm not quitting!

Little background. I've been racing tris very half-assed for about 3 years. I've done a couple 70.3s in the past, with my PR being 6:45(approx. :50, 3:30, 2:30). 6' 185 lbs, male, married with two small kids. Full time college student(12-15 hours/semester).

Anyway, here's my latest plan, I would appreciate any feedback, criticism, or comments(serious or otherwise:)).

My fall semester of school ends in 2 weeks, and the spring semester starts back up early Jan. After the fall semester ends, I'd like to use that break to kick start my running. After school starts back up, I feel like I can afford time for (3) lunch workouts(approx. 40 mins) and one workout on each of the weekend days(1-3 hours). My thought was to run during my lunch workouts, as well as one of the weekend days, and get in one long bike ride on the other weekend day. This would carry on until the Spring semester of college ends in early May.

After the Spring semester ends, I have just about 2 months to really get going with all three sports. At this point, I should have a real nice running base going, and will just have to add a few trainer sessions each week and start swimming.

My questions: Does this sound like a decent plan? And will 8 weeks be enough to build sufficient bike/swim fitness? Obv I'm no pro, or even an A/G competitor, but I want to give myself the best chance possible for a good performance.

Thanks in advance, have a good day.
Quote Reply
Re: Trying to fit a 70.3 around a weird schedule in 2016, help please [Julebag] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
To complete... yes.

To complete comfortably... no