Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Triathlon and Hiking
Quote | Reply
I've been doing triathlon for several years for fun and fitness but have recently started getting into hiking. I really enjoy doing it and have done a mountaineering course also.

However, I feel the more time I spend on hiking, the less triathlon training I can physically handle during a given week and need to scale back the tri training to 2-3x each sport rather than 3-4x per week especially if it is a hard or long day of hiking (6-7hrs hiking on a Sunday).

How should I fit hiking into the season bearing in mind that the best time for me to go hiking with friends is over the summer, which is also tri race season? Does hiking compliment one sport better than the other and I should only bikes or only runs with hiking? Does it make me a better cyclist or runner by doing hiking or are they not benefiting each other?

I do triathlons for enjoyment but also like to get stronger and race faster.
Quote Reply
Re: Triathlon and Hiking [ENP] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You don't say what kind of hiking you do. What kind of terrain? Day trips - Multi-day self-sustained?

It also depends upon how fit you are. Hiking will help with your strength but depending upon how you hike, it may not do a lot for your overall fitness if you are already fit. And, likely won't do much for your speed in any of the events.

If you decide to "Fastpack", that'll be great training for overall fitness. Especially if you do it over multiple days in the mountains except you'll need a really long trail.

BC Don
Pain is temporary, not giving it your all lasts all Winter.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Not really answering your question...but I got a bit of a chuckle.