Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Tri-spoke wheels in Kona?
Quote | Reply
I have a set of Hed3 tri spokes (front and back) which are my only race wheels. Honestly the only reason I have them is because I waited until the right frame came up on ebay a few years ago and this is what was included. People often tell me that they are a great wheel, but I never see anyone else with them so I do sometimes wonder why nobody puts their money where their mouth is.

I’m currently planning to take these wheels to Kona. It's my first time there. I’d like to verify with you knowledgeable people whether I am making a ridiculous mistake, or will I have an okay day. I don’t intend or hope to win, but I want to put in a decent showing and not make any stupid decisions. Mainly I am concerned about weight (is it an issue in kona?) and side winds. I don't own anything else myself but I know plenty of people who I might be able to borrow from, or if the situation is really desperate I could rent.

Relevant info (please ask for anything I missed):
  • Height 190cm (6’3”)
  • Weight 77kg (170 lb)
  • At my qualifying race I was in the top 15 of all age grouper bike splits. Flat nontechnical course, a bit of head wind in some areas, very little side wind. (specifically: Kalmar, 4:54)
  • I am relatively weak at climbing and descending.
  • I’m not good enough/ experienced enough at bike handling to really notice the difference between different wheels.
  • I’m a good swimmer, so I hope to avoid the “kona train”

I hope I’m not opening up a long-dead topic, I did a search but could not find anything recent or really answering my situation. Thanks for your advice and comments, if only to direct me to another relevant thread.
Quote Reply
Re: Tri-spoke wheels in Kona? [HH] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply