Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Tim DeBoom on americans winning Kona....great points!
Quote | Reply
Wow, pulled no punches, but so true....

http://triathlon.competitor.com/...#Uq7u1RmOA9GwkQPl.99
Quote Reply
Re: Tim DeBoom on americans winning Kona....great points! [ggeiger] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Good read, but somehow the transcription got that last part mixed up. What Tim REALLY said was that "we need more CANADIANS to win Kona."
I think he is correct.

http://www.fitspeek.com the Fraser Valley's fitness, wellness, and endurance sports podcast
Quote Reply
Re: Tim DeBoom on americans winning Kona....great points! [ggeiger] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
one quibble - they were talking about how the field is so much deeper and faster these days, and that got me thinking. we take for granted that it's true, but is it?

if i was a male pro racing to win (or place), would i rather be lining up in the mid-late 90s against de boom, zack, van lierde, hellriegel, welch, reid, leder, etc?

or would i race line up today against frodo, keinle, van lierde 2, mackenzie, etc?

-mike

http://howtobeswiss.blogspot.ch/
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I agree with most of what Tim said, but I think that he overvalues racing in Europe.
Sure, you'll be racing against Frodo/Kienle etc. But is that in itself the best Kona prep?

Potts hit on a good point when he talked about it not being a good cost/benefit analysis. The disruption of somebody flying from California to Germany and back in the space of a week or two will really mess with a person's body clock, and therefore their training rhythm.
I think that the athlete is running the risk of illness and poor quality training.

Better that they race somewhere hot/humid in the US or South America, and maintain their training momentum due to less jet lag and flying time.

That or move to Europe and race those guys all year...
Quote Reply