Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Thoughts on this 16 week plan for first 70.3
Quote | Reply
New guy here -

I am looking for advice or modifications to a 70.3 plan that I created. I made this plan using a combination of plans I found online. I tweaked them into one that fits my family's schedule. I plan on starting this plan on January 30th to prepare for my first race on May 21st.

I am an average cyclist, decent runner, and beginner swimmer.

I have been swimming 4 days a week and I am wrapping up my final swim lesson this weekend. I am coming off of a marathon in November and I am brand new to the world of Zwift. I am having a lot of fun on there racing and learning about FTP. I just did my first workout last night, The Wringer. Good stuff.

This plan is based around Tuesday rest days as my wife works long hours that day. I have three kids under the age of five. As a beginner swimmer, I want to continue to swim 4 days a week. Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays fit my wife's work schedule best. Those are my 4 swim days and I built the plan around that.

I was thinking that having my long rides and long runs on back to back days would help me learn how to run on tired legs. I also added some light running after half of my long rides.

I realize that the specifics of each workout are not listed out, but I do plan on doing intervals on the bike certain days as well as different types of running. As for swimming, I am still learning about what types of workouts I can do and how to switch them up. For now I just listed miles and minutes as a general idea.

Any advice on this plan would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

UPDATED PLAN BASED ON FEEDBACK:

http://i64.tinypic.com/s16iko.jpg <- view larger size

• Increased all swim distances by 200y.
  • Added a longer taper.
  • Added a short run on Fridays to make it a brick day.