Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

The first time that I have actually felt "aerodynamic"
Quote | Reply
I have been doing triathlons for 3 years and used to race bikes and did some time trials. I understand the aero benefits of position but never really felt a huge difference while riding.

This last weekend. Relatively flat 56 mile 70.3 bike course. Combination of an out and a small loop. Slight headwinds out.

I was riding at fairly high speeds and was very comfortable on my aero bars. Felt in the zone and very aware of everything. The course was smooth and safe and I could really focus on just riding. I actually felt a difference in how my body reacted with the wind significantly. If I went to horns I felt wind hit my face and chest and for same effort the bike slowed down. It was almost like my body was catching the wind like a windsock. I got on the aero bars and felt the wind move around me vs. into me, and felt a surge in speed for same effort. I actually worked on getting my head down and "turtleing" and felt even more free speed. It was very eye opening regarding benefit of staying in aero and I would say the lowest position to being to sitting up was at least 1-2 mph difference. It actually was almost the same feeling as going from being in the wind to being in a draft. I think if there was more climbing and changes in speed and terrain that this would not be noticeable, but my speed was pretty consistent throughout the ride. I am actually going to lower my bars a bit after this.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is what I perceived backed up by anyone else's experience or understanding? I do not have a power meter so it was more of a feel thing. Is it possibly a placebo effect?
Quote Reply
Re: The first time that I have actually felt "aerodynamic" [nickwisconsin] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply