Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: The "I bought a Cervelo 2 weeks ago and am p*ssed about the $2000 off deal" thread [TH3_FRB] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
TH3_FRB wrote:
So set us all straight - what are the mark-ups from actual cost to the retailer and manufacturer? If they aren't very big then I don't see any reason for the industry folks chiming in here not to be open and honest with us customers. I have no problem with a business making a fair profit.

Power13 wrote:

I'm sorry, Chuck but you have no idea what you are talking about. I worked in the industry for 10 years and I can tell you that the markups on bikes is nowhere what people think they are.

Nah, I'm not going there. I'm not trying to be evasive, I just don't think it is appropriate for people to reveal margin structures. But it is a lot less than most people think. Further, people have vastly different ideas on what "fair profit" is.....see above w/ the guy who thought a 20-30% markup (not margin, but markup) was "high". Uh, OK.

Chicago Cubs - 2016 WORLD SERIES Champions!!!!

"If ever the time should come, when vain and aspiring men shall possess the highest seats in government, our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots to prevent its ruin." - Samuel Adams
Quote Reply
Re: The "I bought a Cervelo 2 weeks ago and am p*ssed about the $2000 off deal" thread [bazilbrush] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm struggling to leave my sarcasm this side of the keyboard.

I bought my P3 in January at full price - so I'm definitely too far removed to have strong feelings about this sale. But, it's a sale. Companies have sales. I'm very pleased with my whip even though I paid full price. The same way that I might be pleased if I paid full price for a B12. It's a great bike.