Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Thank you London!!
Quote | Reply
I'm far from a prolific forum poster but feel compelled to share the below story - A random act of kindness from a fellow cyclist in London yesterday has restored my faith in humanity :-)

A little bit of background:

I completed the Evans Cycles King of the Downs on Sunday (112miles, 9000 feet elevation, good ironman brick fodder..) Great day barring a nasty spill on the final descent ~ 15km from the finish - I knocked myself out & smashed my glasses into my face resulting in a nifty little 2cm flap on the bridge of my nose to the bone. I also bent the rear mech so was very thankful that there were no further hills as I limped back to the finish line.

Then....I received a very strange call yesterday morning.....

“Hi this is Dean, the events Director for Evans Cycles”

“uhhh… Hi Dean”

“John, can I ask you if you lost anything yesterday?”

“I lost consciousness & lost a bit of blood, is that what you mean?”

“Not exactly, are you sure you didn’t lose anything important?”

"I'm pretty sure I've also lost a fair amount of confidence on descents, other than that, no. Why?"

“Well, do you know why a young hooligan (not his exact words...) was riding down Norwood Road this morning on a Specialized S-Works SL3 with your race number from yesterday on it?? (2010 Team Geo, Sram Red, Zipp 404s, Powertap SLC..)

“WTF!!!!!!!”