Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Sub 10 Ironman Training... Questions
Quote | Reply
Hello everyone,

I want to finish the 2015 Ironman Lake Placid under 10 hours. I'm new to this sport. I've never competed in triathlons. I've been generally training for the
past 3 years(MMA & team sports) and been training around 20-24 hours a week for the past 8 months. My training for the past 8 months consisted of 3 running(Long Slow Distance, Continuous High-intensity Intervals, Intervals) and Swimming(LSD, CHI, INT) workouts. 4 core workouts. 4 calisthenics workouts. 4 strength workouts And many back to back hell sessions (you folks might call it a " break-through training day").

My body responds well to stress and I am confident in myself that I'll be able to finish it under 10 hours. The training process will be both mentally and physically challenging and I'm up for both. Physically, Ironman training will be different than my old style of training but not that much different mentally.
I'll be doing different kinds of races along the way to supplement. I have a lot to improve on in all three sports but within the reasonable reach.

I read the Triathlete's Training Bible and designed a plan accordingly. This periodization plan will have me train around 1000 hours annually. Probably a little bit higher because I designed it conservatively. I've gained a lot of knowledge from this book but I'm still unclear on certain areas, I will address this down below.

Thank you for reading this post. Any advice and suggestions would be helpful. Also If any of you have broken 10 hours then I'll be more than glad to hear your experience on how you did it, training plans, etc...

So my questions are:

1. What are your recommendations on assigning training times for each discipline? Ex) %10 swim, 20% run, 60% bike or %15 swim, 15% run, 60% bike.
Note: Biking is my weakest discipline. Strength is not my limiter though, I just haven't biked much.