Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Strava Questions! From a Noob
Quote | Reply
So I'm new to Strava and have some questions if anyone is up for fielding them:
  • What's the deal with the challenges? How do you find ones to join? What ones are good? I keep seeing them in my feed but have never tried them.
  • I'm REALLY excited to be on strava because I find it SUPER motivating and addictive. :) Am I weirding people out if I randomly give out kudos but don't know them irl (people who are in my feed, people who are in my clubs)? Is it strange just to follow random people if you like their workouts? Sorry if I have sketched any of y'all out :)
  • How do some people label captions and hashtags on their photos? Are the connecting to it from another app? (instagram?) I don't see that option anywhere when uploading pics to strava directly.
  • What's zwift? I keep seeing people calling their rides "zwifts" is that some term for some certain type of ride or workout?
  • Are most people tracking themselves from their iphone? Or from a bike computer or a watch and then upload it later? I have a forerunner 920 but so far have just been just using my iphone. Is it better to use a different device to track?
  • Any other advice or etiquette I should know about? Is it a faux pas to post different types of workouts (yoga/rolling/strength) that aren't cycling or running? I don't want to annoy people on there... I'm slow and I suck so won't have to worry about anything QOM/segment related for a loooong time.
This is me if anyone is curious: https://www.strava.com/athletes/9819343

Thanks for the info! Cheers.

Chlorine is my perfume
Last edited by: TheSlugLife: Aug 3, 15 23:05
Quote Reply
Re: Strava Questions! From a Noob [TheSlugLife] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
1: Just sign up if you are keen to do the challenge. Some of them are pretty easy to knock out if you are a regular rider. It is just for fun.