Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Spinning Class vs. Trainer Workout
Quote | Reply
I'm new to triathlon and ultimately trying to keep it as simple as possible. So if I already belong to a gym, why don't I just attend the spinning class? Why is a trainer at home worth the expense and trouble? And at a spinning class you won't get bored or lose track of your workout. What am I missing? Is it that the workouts are really different? Is it really important to use your tri bike?
Quote Reply
Re: Spinning Class vs. Trainer Workout [alpaca61] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
My gym has several styles of spin class available. I did not like any of them because there's a lot of standing up cycling that I didn't like and some high cadence (~130rpm) stretches that I also didn't like. And although the spin class cyles had powermeters the instructor seemed more focused on us turning the resistance knob.

I also don't like the music and the rigid start time and the can't arrive late rules.

My gym does, however, have two CycleOps indoor training bikes with a powermeter. The powermeter seems accurate or at least consistent.

Currently, I do at least 3 one-hour long workouts a week. 2 are hard intervals and 1 is a zone 2 ride. I plan on adding a few sessions in the next couple months.

The gym has wifi so I can listen to spotify.

The drawback to the gym trainer bike is that adjusting my position is time consuming and I'm not sure if I get it to exactly fit.

And occasionally funny things happen such as the gym personnel mixing up the bike computers so that your effort is displayed on the bike next to you and vice versa.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You'll get more from a well-structured trainer workout than you will a spin class, but well-structured is the key. Getting on the trainer and just grinding away will provide benefits, but not as much as planning bike time.