Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Smart Trainer vs Turbo Trainer Question
Quote | Reply
I've been using a turbo mag trainer for the last 14 years and I want to upgrade without breaking the bank (under $500). I live in a region that makes cycling outside almost impossible at least 4-5 months a year. I don't have a power meter either. My questions are:

1. Low end Smart Trainers (Tacx Satori, Tacx Vortex or Elite Qubo Digital Smart B+) or Regular Mag Trainer with Zwift or Trainer Road?
2. Big differences between Zwift and Trainer Road?
3. The Minoura FG540 hybrid trainer, can it adequate resistance on rollers?

Thanks much,
Last edited by: terrtri: Oct 24, 16 11:32
Quote Reply
Re: Smart Trainer vs Turbo Trainer Question [terrtri] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I just purchased a Vortex for use on Zwift.

I had been riding with a mag trainer and rollers prior. The smart trainer makes the experience far more enjoyable. The accuracy left a lot to be desired, but I use my power meter as the power source, and the trainer just varies the resistance relative to the terrain on screen.

I will be using zwift for the winter, but when the summer comes along and I want to perform more workouts in erg mode I will be using trainer road for the "Power match" feature.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Don't cheap out. Buy a Kicker or other higher-end smart trainer. If you have to ride indoors as much as you do, it's worth the extra cost. Especially if you don't already own a powermeter as you want a trainer that is at least relatively consistent with power numbers.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You can get the Tacx Vortex for less than $500, actually $471 from Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/...893ac34483dfb368c381