Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Shame of Being Married to a Mamil
Quote | Reply
So entertaining. Anyone recognize themselves in this? http://www.dailymail.co.uk/...-Aged-Man-Lycra.html

The comment section is vicious. This is just a comedy piece.
Quote Reply
Re: Shame of Being Married to a Mamil [karencoutts] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
He's an amateur.... Not enough bikes or kit....
and who has the time to stop for pictures with the missus..?!?!

Good fun tho. :)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Any article about recreational cycling in the UK press is basically guaranteed clickbait - for every MAMIL there's 2 or 3 drivers who start frothing at the mouth as soon as they see a pair of lycra shorts.

I'm pretty much the classic MAMIL (39 years old, 4 bikes in the garage, and as much lycra as the LBS), except I've been riding road bikes for 20+ years so like to think I'm a little bit cooler (but suspect nobody else cares). I live in the same area as the couple in the article, and I have to say it is absolutely astonishing how many guys my age have suddenly taken the sport up. You go to kids birthday parties and get chatting to other dads and literally seems like everybody has been for a ride that morning. You can barely drive anywhere on a sunday morning for the number of bikes on the road. I live on a road of ~50 houses, about half of whom are occupied by people over 60, and yet I've managed to get a group ride of 6 guys just from our road out before.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If one has been living this lifestyle since his early 20s, does that still count as a MAMIL?

Take a short break from ST and read my blog:
http://tri-banter.blogspot.com/
Quote Reply
Re: Shame of Being Married to a Mamil [cartsman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply