Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Severe muscle cramping quadriceps before IM LC and Boston Marathon - nobody has an explanation
Quote | Reply
I am looking for an explanation or at least some suggestions to avoid another disappointment.

Oct. 25, 2015 - I trained hard to compete in IM Los Cabos. The day after arriving from NYC I went for a super light run with an uphill start, after 6-7 minutes there was a downhill, suddenly I got intense cramping (spasm) in my quadriceps (Rectus Femoris, Vastus Medialis and Sartorius) in BOTH legs. Bringing knee upwards was painful, bringing towards chest was impossible. Walking was difficult. Sitting on the ground trying to stretch and massaging helps a bit but it takes me 20 minutes to shuffle home. I couldn’t race as cramping continued after every light session in the following days.

A true mystery as I had been training for 4 months, my average training regime was 12-14 hours/week, never had slow sessions - always hard sessions and never had any issues with cramping.

Upon my return from Los Cabos I went to see a Neurologist, Cardiologist, MD Endovascular and Vascular Surgery, Sports Medicine Physician and Endocrinologist and I did the following tests:
  • Nerve Conduction study
  • Holter hart monitor for 48h and Echocardiogram
  • Lower Arterial vascular test
  • Spine scan and MRI to check potential interference with disk and the nerves L4 and L5

All tests were normal and didn’t bring any explanation.
My blood test showed a high value for CPK (Creatine Phosphokinase).

Apr. 18, 2016 - While I warmed up for the Boston Marathon I start feeling some tickling feeling in my left Vastus Medialis, 200 meters in the race I got the same cramping as in Los Cabos, both my legs seized up and I had to leave the race.