Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Self-coaching resources
Quote | Reply
I've been doing triathlons for the past 7 years, both road and off-road. For most of that time I've written my own training programs, but have hired coaches from time-to-time to help with specific skills/weaknesses (e.g. swimming). What resources do people on this forum use gather information to inform their training? I'm thinking books, websites, podcasts, seminars, programs, classes, etc. A short list of my favorites are below:

Books
* Triathlete's training bible (Joe Friel)
* Your Best Triathlon (Joe Friel)
* The Well-Built Triathlete (Matt Dixon)
* Swim Smooth (Paul Newsome, Adam Young)
* Triathlon Science (Joe Friel)

Websites/Podcasts
* bikejames.com (mountain biking, mobility/strength)
* Endurance Planet
* strengthcoach.com (Michael Boyle --> strength/mobility)
* Training Bible Coaching podcast
* Joe Friel's blog
* Training Peaks blog

What other resources are useful for self-coaching?
Quote Reply
Re: Self-coaching resources [johnahull] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This forum is the best resource for self coaching. It has everything you need to know for training and racing buried in the archives.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'd say look for a reference or two outside of what we might call triathlon training "common knowledge".

If you check out "Championship Triathlon Training" by George Dallam and "Triathlon Training Fast and Easy" by Rick Niles - you'll get some approaches very different from what you have found in the Joe Friel training books and have some food for thought from different viewpoints.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply