Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Rookie training mistakes
Quote | Reply
Fun Friday game for you all.

I'm pretty new to triathlon, but not new to competitive sport (my background is in swimming and rowing). Since starting tri training I've noticed that certain things universally mark you out as being an amateur, pretty much regardless of what sport you're doing. I'm definitely not talking about not having the best kit, or a flashy bike, or being a particular speed - I've got nothing but respect for the guy who blazes past me on a beat up hybrid, or the person who is slower but working really hard. What I'm talking about is your approach to training, and to looking after yourself so you can get the most out of whatever it is you like doing.

I'll start with a couple of examples of what I would consider rookie training mistakes:

1. Hanging around in dirty kit after training
This one is so common. If we spent more than about 5 minutes after a training session in wet dirty kit, we'd get a hiding. You're asking to get ill. I see people leaving the gym in the kit they trained in with no shower all the time. In particular, there seem to be a lot of girls at the moment who wear their carefully co-ordinated gym outfits basically all day, including after training. That's grim. I appreciate you might not always have the shower and changing facilities if you're out training somewhere remote, but in a gym there's no excuse.

2. Not knowing why you're doing the session you're doing