Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Replacing my cranks and BB, and choosing a powermeter
Quote | Reply
I've got a 2016 Felt IA14 which is in need of a little maintenance and tweaking.
There's grinding and knocking which I think is coming from the BB so I reckon the bearings may be damaged. I haven't disassembled anything yet to investigate. I've been riding it quite a bit for 2 years now, mostly on the trainer.
I'd also like to try shorter cranks to see if it helps with some knee pain I've been having, and because I think I might prefer slightly shorter cranks anyway. Finally, I think perhaps it's time I got a power meter.

So I was thinking of going with a Power2Max NG or NGeco and perhaps Rotor 3D+ with 165mm cranks and 52/36 Praxis or Rotor chainrings (I'm currently using the stock FSA Trimax Pro cranks/chainset with 172.5mm cranks and 52/38 chainrings).

I'd prefer pedal based PM so I could move it between my road and tri bikes depending on my focus at any given time but I use Speedplays and don't want to change. I also don't think I want a wheel based PM.
What do you all reckon. Sensible selection or is there a better option I'm overlooking?

Edit: Oh yeah, on the BB replacement. Would you just go with a basic BB or is anything else worthwhile, and why?
Last edited by: Ai_1: Feb 20, 18 7:57
Quote Reply
Re: Replacing my cranks and BB, and choosing a powermeter [Ai_1] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Another option is Cobb crank (come in a variety of sizes 145-165) and a C1 power meter. Crank+BB would run $350-400 and C1 currently $350. Pretty cost effective. I have recently gone to a shorter crank and picked Cobb as it was compatible with my existing C1.
As far as BB, I am no expert but the Cobb site seems to have every BB imaginable that is compatible with their cranks. You would just have to figure out what would work in the IA14.

Tim

-----------------------------------------------------------------