Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Reflections on 6+ months of minimalist (barefoot style) running
Quote | Reply
I think I'm finally fully adapted to the minimalist/barefoot running style now after 20 years of running with motion control shoes like the Brooks Beast.

I'm not an expert, but I'm a pretty typical M40 AG triathlete, so I thought I'd just throw out some of my experience for anyone else interested in going down this (fun) road!

Why I did it -

Mainly for fun. But also due to the hard reality that nearly all running sneaker 'technology' is based upon marketing, and NOT science. Seriously, all that 'neutral', 'motion-control', 'stability', 'cushioned' terms have zero science backing it. Luckily for humans, our bodies seem to adapt really well to various footwear, but there are some scientists who believe a lot of our hip/knee arthritis as we get older is due to redistributing the forces that were supposed to go through our achilles, into knees/hips due to cushiony shoes.

Did it make me faster?

No, it hasn't. I've matched my recent 5k paces (18:53) with cushiony shoes vs minimalist shoes. Haven't raced longer yet, but suspect it would be similar - my training paces are equalized. So if you're looking for a speed boost, this isn't it.

Best thing about barefoot/minimalist running?

LOTS of good things, can't say which is the 'best', but here are some def winning points:

- You strengthen and use your feet the way nature intended to. The stride feels a lot more natural and you feel very mobile and light on your toes.

- You can run in nearly anything, not just minimalist shoes.

- The minimalist shoes pack to nearly nothing. No more huge sneakers taking up 1/3rd of your suitcase - they take up as much room as socks!