Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Recommended cable and housing
Quote | Reply
I would like to replace the brake and shifting cables on my bike. I have never done this before. Are all cables and housing created equal? Is it more about personal preference or are some manufacturers better than others? Recommendations?
Quote Reply
Re: Recommended cable and housing [Dallcro] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've not really noticed much difference between Shimano and Campy kits, or Jagwire or REI kits. Gore Ride On is nice, but expensive. Just make sure the housing and cable diameter is the same you are changing out, you'll be fine. Oh.. I don't like the Teflon coated cables, the coating comes off, they look bad, and really don't perform better.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I like Jagwire for my shimano components. They are not the lightest or most expensive but I've never had failure and my shifting and braking always works.

On my bike with campy, however, I use campy stuff...I just think that it can be a bit finicky using off brands.

Matt
Race-Ready Endurance Training
Team BIKEWAY.com
NYPD Racing
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I go for budget items and replace first sign that inner isn't sliding freely. I look for a stainless inner, and will replace these often. I usually only need to change the outer when I'm changing fit or color scheme.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I just stick to the Shimano ones. Relatively inexpensive compared to other parts on a bike and last me for ages. Other than the chain, my attitude to bike maintenance is generally that if it's not broken, not making any noise, and not impacting my riding experience (e.g. bad shifts or braking) then it's fine. On that basis I've had cables that lasted me 8 years and ~25,000 miles on one bike (and it was a bike that got ridden year round in rain, with salt on the roads, etc). Brake cables on my single speed commuter are 6 years old and still working (and looking) fine.
Quote Reply