Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Race Report by Corey Deveaux (2015 Lake Placid AG Champion)
Quote | Reply
I don’t often write or post these so I apologize if it is boring or too long. I first want to tell you a little bit about me. I’m a 31-year-old math teacher from Nova Scotia, Canada. I started triathlon and competitive sports 5 years ago, in the fall of 2010, when I signed up for my first running race. It was a half marathon, and I registered the week before. At that time, the longest I had ever run was 10 kilometres. Three weeks after that race, I finished my first marathon. Around this time I got involved with my local triathlon club (Cape Breton Barbarians). I signed up for an Ironman before I had ever participated in a triathlon. I feel it’s important to mention that I did not have a background in any of the 3 sports. Two of my first four Ironmans were the World Championship races in Kona in 2012 and 2013, and I qualified at Mont-Tremblant each time (4th, 25-29 in 2012 and 4th, 30-34 in 2013).

Please don’t think I’m writing the above to boast; this is not my intention. I feel it is important because I believe huge goals CAN be achieved with hard work and determination. Find a passion and put your heart into it. Mike Riley mentioned the following quote at the Lake Placid awards banquet: “The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a man's determination.” (Spoken by Tommy Lasorda.)

Last summer, I decided to sign up for Ironman Lake Placid. I knew the competition would be tough and my goal was to qualify for Kona again. I’ve come far on my own, but I decided to hire a coach. I signed up with Carmichael Training Systems and was paired with Matt Ison. I can’t say enough good things about Matt.