Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Race Report Austin 70.3 (MOP)
Quote | Reply
A first post from a long time reader; I really enjoy reading the detailed race reports so here is mine:

Background
I decided to get into triathlon and in early 2017 I signed up for Texas Ironman 70.3 (Galveston) as my first race. I started training in the January (the race is at the start of April). At that point I could not swim 25m freestyle so I joined a swimming club who taught me and soon got to the point where I was confident of making the cut off time for the swim. My bike and run training was very ad-hoc – In fact I did not actually own a bike when I signed up for the race, so I needed to buy one of those (a Giant road bike) as well as all the other ‘stuff’!
2017 Texas Ironman 70.3 Results – 0:47 / 2:56 / 2:11 (+ transitions) for a total of 6:04

I was happy with the swim and bike, but cramped up on the run and ended up doing a lot more walking than running during the final lap of the run course. However the most important result was that I absolutely loved it and decided it was for me. I decided to get more structured so bought Joel Friels book. This book led to me writing a plan, getting some clip on aero bars, a proper bike fit (which then led to getting a new ISM saddle), committed to spend more time proportionally running (dislike) and less time biking (love) and really working on my swim (indifferent).

I’m male, 37, now 175lb (down from 230lb thanks to this new sport), 6’ tall, no sporting background at all.

Goals
I wrote down some ‘season goals’ and ‘training objectives’ (as per Joel’s annual training plan), these were:

Season Goal
- Finish Austin Ironman 70.3 in less than 5:30
Training Objectives
- Complete a 3.8km open water swim (to build my swim confidence)
- Complete a 100 mile cycle ride (just because I wanted to, long cycle rides are my favorite part)
- Run a sub 20 minute 5k (seemed like a good challenge)