Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Question for those who have recovered from a tough ITB case
Quote | Reply
I want to first start off that my background is in Sports Medicine and usually practice eveidence based medicine and have reviewed probably 100+ articles related to the IT band. I am now seeking the athletes insight to help my case. I have a constant battle of my Sports Medicine Angel and Athlete Devil going on in my head for about the past 20 days.

Little background information. I am 28 y/o male 6ft 220lbs former collegiate football player making he transition to Triathalon with the challenge of doing my first Ironman August 2012. My Active and Passive Range of motion is horrible. Hip strength is also poor.

3 weeks ago I developed pain during running on lateral aspect of knee was able to finish that 5 mile tempo run. Next running session left me walking back to my car I was stopped with excruciating pain felt like someone was hammering a nail into Gerdy's Tubercle on my anterior Tibia. I automatically started reflecting and remember feeling the tight clicking feeling without pain on my lateral knee over the past few weeks. (shake it off and perform a quick quad stretch). The light bulb kind of went off that I the person that usually fixes this sorta thing was actually injured and suffering from ITB friction syndrome. I was able to continue biking and running without pain.