Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Question - Heart rate during 10k
Quote | Reply
Hi,

I would appreciate some feedback. I took part in a 10k race yesterday. Very happy with my result as it took me 42min to run a 5k 7 months ago. I noticed during the run that my heart rate would not exceed 176, my legs felt ok but my lungs felt maxed out. Felt that I wouldn't be able to breath if I went any faster. I am new to endurance sports, the majority of my training has been focused on volume in Z2.

Race info below:

Ended up being 10.5k
Time: 52:18
Avg HR 169
Max HR 176

What could be the limiting factor? Fatigue from usual weekly training load? VO2Max needs to increase?

Thank you.
Quote Reply
Re: Question - Heart rate during 10k [TOSaffa] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
TOSaffa wrote:
Hi,

I would appreciate some feedback. I took part in a 10k race yesterday. Very happy with my result as it took me 42min to run a 5k 7 months ago. I noticed during the run that my heart rate would not exceed 176, my legs felt ok but my lungs felt maxed out. Felt that I wouldn't be able to breath if I went any faster. I am new to endurance sports, the majority of my training has been focused on volume in Z2.

Race info below:

Ended up being 10.5k
Time: 52:18
Avg HR 169
Max HR 176

What could be the limiting factor? Fatigue from usual weekly training load? VO2Max needs to increase?

Thank you.

the limiting factor is 7 months ago you were fast-walking 5k races. you just need to keep running. you are already seeing huge improvements. just keep at it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Developing speed takes time, that would be the limiting factor (time). Be patient!

Maybe try some intervals once a week.

I like doing: 15 min WU (including some drills) - 5x1600 meters @ half marathon pace or 5x1000 meters @ 10k pace - 15 min CD.

You need to run a certain pace in order to know what that particular pace feels like.

Love the Pain!

Quito-Ecuador
Quote Reply