Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Press Fit Bottom Brackets - Good Grief!!
Quote | Reply
OK - with apologies - rant time!

Who's idea were these? I'm not an engineer, but they seem like a terribly bad idea for a part of the bike that endures perhaps the most stress/strain on the whole bike.

Good grief. These things wear out at a ridiculous rate compared to threaded outboard BB's.

If you have a bike with an OEM press-fit BB, are there any solutions to make it better?

Steve Fleck @stevefleck | Blog
Last edited by: Fleck: Feb 14, 16 10:00
Quote Reply
Re: Press Fit Bottom Brackets - Good Grief!! [Fleck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
there are two loctite products you can use. One is an expansion material; this is for when a gap develops btwn the cups and the BB shell. I think i resorted to this method.

The other is a press fit compound that doesn't expand as much. In both cases, i think it's recommended that you use the primer as well.

I absolutely despise Press Fit BBs; as my coach would say, they are the devil's spawn.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Don't you know plenty of people in the industry? Bend their ear and help us all out. We shouldn't have to live with a design that is difficult to wrench on and so prone to issues.
Quote Reply
Re: Press Fit Bottom Brackets - Good Grief!! [Pantelones] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Nothing beats square taper bb.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Fleck wrote:
If you have a bike with an OEM press-fit BB, are there any solutions to make it better?