Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Plantar Fasciitis-run through it?
Quote | Reply
I've been running competitively for 6 years. I never had plantar fasciitis before and all of sudden I get it. I ramped up my run training following my IM 4 weeks ago but nothing I couldn't handle before. Do you just run through this and hope it gets better? It doesn't hurt to run but I feel it more just walking around.
Quote Reply
Re: Plantar Fasciitis-run through it? [endurance1234] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I would love to hear some feedback on this as well. I got it in the spring while training for a half marathon and it flared up quite bad during the race itself. I battled it all season and want to make sure it is completely gone before training again now in the off season. Mine doesn't hurt to run either and just feel it walking around.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
endurance1234 wrote:
I've been running competitively for 6 years. I never had plantar fasciitis before and all of sudden I get it. I ramped up my run training following my IM 4 weeks ago but nothing I couldn't handle before. Do you just run through this and hope it gets better? It doesn't hurt to run but I feel it more just walking around.

I'll preface this with "I'm not a doctor or a physical therapist" just a guy that runs a lot.

NO! I have a training partner that had that same mind set, got so bad they she was out for 9 months trying to get it back just so she could jog pain free. If it were me I would go super proactive about it.
- get the sleep boot/sock
- ice it constantly
- roll your foot on a frozen can of juice or something along those lines.
-stretch the calves before you get up in the morning
- look up exercises for the foot on youtube (like picking up a sock with the bottom of your foot)