Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Performance Improvement with Better Cycling Gear
Quote | Reply
I'm new to triathlon and currently training on a cyclocross bike. It's about 21 pounds, perhaps slightly too large and without clipless pedals (or toe clips) or aerobars. I can currently ride 40k on a moderately hilly course at 21.5 mph. I have $2000 to spend to maximize my bike performance: What do I buy, where can I find the best cost, and how much faster can I get?

P.S. Don't forget the obvious: a new bike - I don't want people telling me to spend all my money on aero wheels.
Quote Reply
Re: Performance Improvement with Better Cycling Gear [runner2913] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Depending on how 'new' you are, and how long you think you're likely to spend in the sport I wouldn't necessarily spend that much. You can gain quite a bit of time for not a lot of money by replacing the tyres and tubes, adding some aero bars, and buying a pair of clipless pedals and cycling shoes. That'll probably make you around 90% of the time gains. If you still like tri in a years time and you invest in a tri bike the only money you'll have wasted was the aerobars.
Quote Reply
Re: Performance Improvement with Better Cycling Gear [runner2913] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'll give you the somewhat unhelpful answer of buy a bike that fits. It is really key to get a good fitting bike, but without having ridden a tri bike, you don't really know how they are supposed to fit. So the proper thing to do is go to a good bike fitter. Be prepared to spend a few hundred.