Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Pedal choice?
Quote | Reply
I may be getting too detailed with this question, but what is a good pedal choice for me?

I've been using a Nashbar brand pedal for the past 4 years and now I've noticed a little bit of play in 1 and think it's time to get a new pair all together.

I'm wanting something more mainstream like Shimano 105.

What other brand and model should I be looking at?

Thanks
Last edited by: finsfree: Jul 22, 14 18:09
Quote Reply
Re: Pedal choice? [finsfree] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Speedplay.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
With shimano 540's costing $10 more than just the cleats at several retailers, (Nashbar!) it's probably worth a try. Certainly a cheap introduction.

The question of who is right and who is wrong has seemed to me always too small to be worth a moment's thought, while the question of what is right and what is wrong has seemed all-important.

-Albert J. Nock
Quote Reply
Re: Pedal choice? [Derf] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Look Keo Blade Aero 2's are the best pedals I've ever owned! Just put them on my new Speed Concept.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
100 different answers for this one. I have used 105 for years without dramas. Just bought some ultegra carbon bastards coz they were out cheap. I don't expect any performance difference but all shimano pedals are good
Quote Reply
Re: Pedal choice? [trekker] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
trekker wrote:
Speedplay.

What he said (I've had Speedplay Zero for about 6 years)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
6 year user of speedplay who recently switched to Shimano Ultegra a year ago. Could not be happier with Shimano. I believed I needed (wanted?) the float which speedplay offers but find the minimal float of Shimano feels better. One key reason for the switch was that pedals/cleats are VERY expensive in NZ compared to shimano.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've used a variety of pedals with varying level of success.