Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Olympic and 70.3 run volume...
Quote | Reply
What is everyone pushing for their half iron and/or Olympic weekly run volumes?

On top of this - what zone do you train in MOST...
Quote Reply
Re: Olympic and 70.3 run volume... [ou8acracker2] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
the answers will range from 10-65 mpw. There is a better question or two you could have asked if you are looking to see what you should be running.

Zones are so last decade. You should be running the majorioty of your miles easy/aerobic effort. To quote AC: It's an aerobic sport damn it

Brian Stover USAT LII
Accelerate3 Coaching
Insta

Quote Reply
Re: Olympic and 70.3 run volume... [desert dude] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
80-95ks a week...but I'm a pro.

All easy (4.45-5.15 min k/s) apart from (in this last 6 week block)

8x3mins at 5k pace (2min walk reco)

and 8x4mins at 10k pace (2min jog reco)

those are seperate sessions

Quote | Reply
Willrc91 wrote:
80-95ks a week...but I'm a pro.

What does that mean?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Big weeks are 45ish miles. Normal is more around 30-35. A lot of easier running.
off season I might put the bike down for a few weeks to put in a run focus block and push up to 70-80 miles. At those volumes, even greater portions are easy.

IG: idking90
Quote Reply
Re: Olympic and 70.3 run volume... [James Haycraft] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I don't have to balance a job or study Etc.

That mileage wouldn't be advisable for most age groupers.

Quote | Reply
I don't follow a strict training schedule, so I am anywhere from 15-30 mpw, depending on circumstances (weather, races, work).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The Olympic plan that I have used in the past averages around 15 mpw, with peak weeks around 20.

I pretty much go off the McMillan charts for my training paces, based off my most recent stand alone 5K results.

Mark
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply