Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Nutrition plan help
Quote | Reply
I have been training for 5 years for triathlons including Ironman's. I am in need of assistance with a reliable nutrition plan for the race. I can't seem to get the right amount of nutrition in to get me through my bike ride and would like to get help in accomplishing this goal of feeling better while on the bike and transitioning to run. Any assistance would be appreciated. Thank you!!
Quote Reply
Re: Nutrition plan help [ffmedck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What have you done and what are you currently doing?

jaretj
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm not an IM guy but I did recently do research for my 70.3. It's a pretty basic and easy guideline to follow

Body can only absorb and use 60-75g of carbs per hour for the average athlete. The body can only absorb between 750-900ml of fluids per hour. Keeping these parameters in mind you can create yourself a plan.

For my 70.3 I did the following:
1/2 Clif Bar before the swim
1/2 Clif Bar in my mouth before T1 exit
(I wanted solids in my digestive tract early to disperse energy slowly throughout the day)

3x500ml bottles on bike (or 2x750ml) Each 500ml was 36g carbs and the electrolyte blend that accompanies that in most sports drink (I used SiS Go)
3xGel packet on bike at 20g carbs each

4xGel+Skratch Labs concentrated hand flask for the run

This strategy got me at 56g of carbs per hour, I had solids in my gut to slowly digest and disperse energy in addition to the fast acting gels and energy drink mix. Looking back the only change I'd make is having a cookie in T2 if possible to get in some more solids to help towards the back half of the run. I ended up downing the coke offered at aid stations. I'm sure others can dissect this and showcase some flaws but like a lot of things in the sport, the strategy for you will be individual based on how your body behaves.

------