Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: My testing to try and find best crank length with my Velotron [h2ofun] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
"You are all snowflakes."

"I can't believe Dan allows all these personal attacks to go on."

Just LOL. These threads are half the reason I hang around Slowtwitch. The lack of self awareness combined with self confidence is the most entertaining thing I read most days.
Quote Reply
Re: My testing to try and find best crank length with my Velotron [JasoninHalifax] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
JasoninHalifax wrote:
h2ofun wrote:
h2ofun wrote:
So after another poor bike season, being hit by Frank Day again, being off season, looking for a new bike, looking at bike fit, etc. I have started, again, to try and gather real data as to what crank length is best for me, a very tall person at 6'5. Everyone has their opinions, but as an engineer, I want numbers, and so far have not been able to find anyone who, IMO, has done some real testing.

Frank has always told me I all the test equipment needed with my Velotrons, adjustable cranks, etc.

So, you have seen my one post working on bike fit and have gotten some great inputs. But none of them talk about bike cranks since basically no one spends the time, or money, to do real testing!

So working with Frank, I have started to do some testing riding at 200 watts, changing RPM's from 110, 95, 80 and 65 after 10 minute blocks and recording HR to gather some data.

I have been riding basically the same 2 routines, one is a 120 watt spin 90 minute session, the other is an interval setup where I warm up with a step 160 to 300 watt, 1 minute steps, then a 150 watt 5 minute, 190 watt 5 minute, and then 4 230 watt, 10 minute with a 150 5 minute spin in between. I spin a 50/16 gear for 84 gear inches.
I have years of data on these ride on how far I have gone.