Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Metabolic test results
Quote | Reply
I did a metabolic test at the CU Sports Medicine and Performance Center today and it was really interesting! I thought I would share my results so people unfamiliar with what kind of info you can get from these tests can see, and to solicit commentary from those who know all about this stuff. Anything in particular I should note in my results? I've been doing triathon since 2012, focusing mostly on the half distance, but doing my first full this summer. I think these results will help with fueling and pacing for sure. The test did not include a VO2max component in that we did not go up to maximal effort. They feel the number is pretty much useless and no need to shell the athlete to get it, ruining a couple days of training. But there is VO2 up to the point they felt they got all the data they needed.

I tried to make these bigger... but they always seem to come in this size. Hard to read.

-------------
Ed O'Malley
www.VeloVetta.com
Founder of VeloVetta Cycling Shoes
Instagram • Facebook
Last edited by: RowToTri: Jan 26, 16 14:45
Quote Reply
Re: Metabolic test results [RowToTri] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ed- Glad you enjoyed your experience!

For what it's worth, I'm not the physiologist who did Ed's test (we have 3, Myself, Kevin Nicol and Inigo San Millan), but will be happy to address any appropriate questions.

Just realized you cannot click to enlarge the above images.

The First is a Lactate profile / HR per workload. The Green box are training zones.
The Second is Carbohydrate and Fat Oxidation in Grams per minute
The Third is Carbs and Fats in Kcal per minute with a Lactate curve overlay and CHO Kcals per hour for each zone
The last is essentially a table of raw data.

I talk a lot - Give it a listen: http://www.fasttalklabs.com/category/fast-talk
I also give Training Advice via http://www.ForeverEndurance.com