Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Looking for some advice
Quote | Reply
Hey everyone, I’m currently a sophomore in college looking for some advice from the people here who may have been through similar situations.

So I’m currently a sophomore in college pursing a degree in computer engineering. I’m a d1 XC track athlete hoping to focus on triathlons after university. Of course being a competitive athlete along with doing well in academics and working part time leaves me little room to train for triathlons. Now i know that no one here can add time in the day to make this more manageable I’d like to better prepare my future to allow time.

My question is basically whether or not this is feasible? Yea I’m sure i can find some job paying below average and focus on training but this doesn’t seem like a mature decision. Is there anyone here in the tech industry that can provie input? Being from Long Island, New York id pretty much need a start pay of over 70k minimum to feel somewhat comfortable and begin my adult life. Although to live my current lifestyle I’d probably need closer to 100.

More or less, i feel like most people in triathlons are very successful economically and I’m curious if any of you are in the tech industry and wouldn’t mind sharing your experience.

Thanks,
Kyle
Quote Reply
Re: Looking for some advice [Kylek42] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am not in the tech industry and truthfully it's been awhile since I graduated with my BS in chemistry and got my 1st job but - holy shit - is a 70k salary just starting out actually realistic??? Maybe the LI area pays more, at least I believe the cost of living is higher than Philly, but damn, more power to you if you find that salary just starting out. And I didn't add a 6th digit to my salary until a couple years into my job post Ph.D. plus post doc...