Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Letter from an Ironman widow [IronWidow] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
"TriSpouse" is my own personal tri-widow.

I was a pro skier back in the day. We make triathletes seem like caring sharing family oriented people! After I finished competing, I got into teaching and coaching. TriSpouse was one of my ski students. :-) She has had to put up with all sorts of my crap, but to be fair, A) she knew exactly what she was getting herself into by marrying me and B) I've had to put up with her crap too.

By loving each other, caring about each other and both being willing to compromise and let things slide from time to time, we have just got past 30 years being married. Our marriage has had it's ups and downs, like any marriage. Some of those downs have been caused by ironman of course.

The first IM is always the worst. Firstly, the poor entrant doesn't have a clue what is involved and has just bitten off more than they can chew. The solution is to train more, and that makes them grumpy, all the while the spouse suffers. Once the first IM is out of the way, then sanity has a chance of getting a look in. It won't necessarily win, but it has a chance of a toe hold in the relationship at least.

To get through any relationship takes communication (bitchin or shouting isn't communicating BTW), compromise and forgiveness. If you both really want it to work, and you take the necessary steps to get it to work, then it will work. It's only when one partner isn't committed enough to the relationship that it has the opportunity to fail.

You obviously care about your husband and your relationship (evidenced by your open letter to Slowtwitch), so I expect that if he has the same love and committment, his IM problem will be a mere blip in the road.

Best of luck, I hope you and he get things sorted.

TriDork