Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Legal Question - Kind of Cycling Related
Quote | Reply
Here is the ultimate question. Can I lose my blog name if someone else gets a trademark for that name?

Here is the background:

• My blog is cycling related and at best is not much more than a spot that I record my training and ride at a recreational level. I sometimes put an observation on cycling or training products that I buy just as a light perspective.
  • I do not sell products or ads and do not intend to do so in the future. I considered it once, but I am too busy in my normal career and I am not good in retail sales.
  • I've been posting to that blog since 2008.
  • There is nothing unique or special about my blog. Meaning I do not have any ideas or thoughts or products that could be considered of value.
  • I do have a somewhat unique blog graphic logo, but that too is not of a great value to me and there are many similar to that graphic.

What I have noticed recently that traffic to my blog has picked up substantially the past months. Being that my blog is probably about as fun or interesting as watching paint dry I thought that was odd until I noticed someone searched my blog for t-shirts and coffee mugs. I did a web search and see that someone on Facebook is using the exact same name as a FB page. However, the real company has a different URL name than my blog name. I did a quick trademark name search this morning and no one has officially recorded that name or at least it did not come up in the simple query there and on a trademark legal service search.

It would not be the end of the world to me if some day I were forced to change my blog name. I am not sure I want to layout the $400+ dollars to apply or get a trademark legal service involved. The only thing I dislike is that someone sees that on FB and has bad deals with that business and thinks I am connected to that company or business.