Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Last week of swim training before first 2.4M. Need help
Quote | Reply
Sunday the 28th I'm going to do my first full distance swim event. 2.4 mile swim + 3.5 mile run at the Berkeley Marina. I've been doing the Guppy program, 3x per week, so the yardage has been about 2k each time. Tonight, mostly as a confidence builder, I did a straight 2,750. Finished in 46:52, or 1:44/100 pace. Slower than I wanted, but got done feeling like I could Have kept going.
The question: since I'm not gonna improve my form/technique in the last week, what are the key workouts I can do for the last week?
Quote Reply
Re: Last week of swim training before first 2.4M. Need help [mpderksen] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hmm ... I'm okay with a very small amount of recovery on swim vs other disciplines, so if I were you I'd do warmup plus 3 or 4 sets of (6x100 on 1:50 ---> 400 pull). you will build yardage, break up monotony, get some mild interval work in and some major distance. I'm assuming here that the swim is wetsuit legal.

—Mr. Hand
Quote Reply
Re: Last week of swim training before first 2.4M. Need help [scofflaw] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
scofflaw wrote:
Hmm ... I'm okay with a very small amount of recovery on swim vs other disciplines, so if I were you I'd do warmup plus 3 or 4 sets of (6x100 on 1:50 ---> 400 pull). you will build yardage, break up monotony, get some mild interval work in and some major distance. I'm assuming here that the swim is wetsuit legal.

^^^^This workout.

I'd do 3 sets per workout this weekend and 2 sets during the week. Don't ramp up your yardage significantly the week before an event (anti-taper); you won't get any fitness, but could go into it fatigued.

3X 2K workouts/week is easily enough to complete a 2.4 swim; you'll be fine.

Good luck at Catfish....used to do it back when it was in Los Gatos.

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley: