Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Ironman South Korea ... the race and the Country
Quote | Reply
Anyone done the race this year? Any recon info on the race ... course, logistic, support, etc?

I Google around the internet to find race reports, but since this was a first year race, info is lacking. I know that there is a 70.3 there and there are some info about it. However, I'd like more specific info for the 140.6 distance.

Also, those of you who've driven in South Korea, how difficult is it for an American? I've read that rental gps system, in English, is hard come by via the car rental place. Not sure if that's still relevant or not. Since it's a small country, I'm hoping to rent a car and just drive around the country.

Quote | Reply
I wasn't there for ironman but I visited not too long ago after I graduated from college. My advice would be:

Rent a portable wifi. They are cheap and a life saver. Rent before hand. Alternatively you can find a sim card and pre pay for a specific time. This will give you unlimited data during your stay. It is a life saver. You can check out kiosks at the airport or go to any cellphone outlet (there's tons)

With regard to culture, I loved Korea. I thought it was amazing, even better than japan imo. The people are much more open and communicate with you. Just be respectful and you will meet some amazing people. Also I hope you like spicy food.

Edit: I meant rent portable WiFi not gps. You will get unlimited WiFi all over the country with them. They are very good and a life saver.
Last edited by: Aid.dre.an: Oct 19, 17 7:54
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman South Korea ... the race and the Country [zoom] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Getting lost and dealing with language barriers is a fun part of travelling.

Do it.
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman South Korea ... the race and the Country [Aid.dre.an] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I hadn't thought about portable wifi. Great idea, thanks