Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Increased swim volume seems to be beating down my run training
Quote | Reply
I've been doing a swim-run block of no cycling for the past 2 months, and it's been going well, especially the swim portion, where I've managed to exceed the equivalent of 15k/wk every week, and often go over 20k/wk. (Which is a lot for this lousy MOP swimmer despite the reasonable sounding volume.)

I've gotten progressively stronger and this past week have done most of the yardage at a good intensity, not requiring too many easy-effort or recovery-type workouts since my arms can handle it. However, I've noticed pretty clearly that as I hammer the swim, my run training is really suffering - something I really didn't expect. Not that the legs are tired out - they're not. I just get this strange sense of total body fatigue that just shuts everything down after the swim pounding - I got on my treadmill this morning, and could barely run 2 miles at 9minutes per mile before having to call it quits. In comparison, just 3 days ago I did a very standard run workout for my current fitness which is 10 miles at a 7:20-7:40/mile pace on a treadmill.

I'd say it works vice-versa (run pounding affecting the swim) but I'm currently prioritizing swim over run, so if I'm feeling the gas, I'm using it for the swim since it's my big limiter.

Anyone else notice this swim fatigue affecting the other disciplines? Just curious how any higher-volume swimmers manage this.
Quote Reply
Re: Increased swim volume seems to be beating down my run training [lightheir] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply