Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

If I'm not a cyclist, is a fitting just a fitting?
Quote | Reply
I'm still relatively new to triathlons & my only bike right now is a MTB (completed 2 sprints on it). I've been looking at going straight into a tri bike since I am not a cyclist & do not plan to be a cyclist (I'm a runner), so I have no need to go the road bike route first since group rides & other rides are not something I want to do.

I have been looking at all of the LBS here in Atlanta. While there is some brand overlap, it seems that there is no "one stop shop" for a lot of the brands I am looking at. As a result, I need to try & compare apples to apples at different stores. To use three stores as an example:

Atlanta Cycling - Trek & Cervelo
Podium Multisport - Felt & Orbea
All 3 Sports - Cervelo & QR

Here's the catch. All three of these places include a fitting if you buy a bike from them. That's awesome, but it also causes a problem if I'm looking for a specific fitter & a brand they don't carry. Everyone in Atlanta says that the team at Podium MS are the best fitters in the city as far as being comprehensive & skilled, and some say that fittings at other places are nowhere near them. But since I am not a cyclist, is anything beyond a basic fitting that will tell me the size of bike that I need, the position of my bars, seat position, etc, really necessary? I don't really need an in-depth fitting with power and stats and printouts. I just need to know my basic numbers & measurements to ensure that I am set up correctly to minimize fatigue & maximize aero potential.

A Podium fitting is $300 & while that may not seem like a lot in the grand scheme of buying a $2-4k bike, $300 can go a long way for some immediate upgrades.
Last edited by: Meathead: Jul 23, 14 7:34
Quote Reply
Re: If I'm not a cyclist, is a fitting just a fitting? [Meathead] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Meathead wrote: