Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Hydration Systems for Long distance courses
Quote | Reply
Hi, I am new to Slowtwitch (been lurking for a while) and this is my first year of triathlons, I previously been in to ultra running and cycling. I am signed up for the Ohio 70.3 and the Louisville full distance and recently purchased a Speed Concept. I am a little lost for what kind of hydration system to buy for my new ride since there are so many options. My brother has done a lot of long course tries and he has tried the saddle mount water bottle holders but has gravitated toward the torpedo style mount. He doesn't use one of the bottles with the straw built in because he says he doesn't want to have to worry about refilling it, so he just put Gatorade bottle with twist top right into the mount, no refilling required, just toss a bottle and get a new one.

What are folks preferences? The straw seems convenient but refilling seems like it would be difficult.

I admit that I have not spent time handling a bunch of different systems.
Quote Reply
Re: Hydration Systems for Long distance courses [Bandade] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Bandade wrote:
Hi, I am new to Slowtwitch (been lurking for a while) and this is my first year of triathlons, I previously been in to ultra running and cycling. I am signed up for the Ohio 70.3 and the Louisville full distance and recently purchased a Speed Concept. I am a little lost for what kind of hydration system to buy for my new ride since there are so many options. My brother has done a lot of long course tries and he has tried the saddle mount water bottle holders but has gravitated toward the torpedo style mount. He doesn't use one of the bottles with the straw built in because he says he doesn't want to have to worry about refilling it, so he just put Gatorade bottle with twist top right into the mount, no refilling required, just toss a bottle and get a new one.