Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Edit: winter-run-focus
Quote | Reply
Hi!
I've been biking for around 10 years, but only took up tri 2 years ago. The run is my worst leg (surprise!), and I'd really like to put in some work on the run this winter. However, I am looking to get other peoples experience regarding how fast bike-fitness is lost when not focusing on bike / how to maintain bike-fitness with minimum time on the bike during winter.

Just to give some background - I'm around 175-178 lbs, and hover around 300 - 320w FTP. This usually puts me at the front end of the field off the bike, so I need to "hang on" for the run. The longer the run - the harder for me. My PR's (in tris) are 19:2x 5k, 42:1x Oly, 1:35 HIM and 3:57 IM (only 1 attempt on this one). I'd like to put in some serious work on my run to get more competitive on the last part. I'm gonna follow a BarryP-like plan, trying to run 5-6 days a week. Ill be realle carefull upping my milage from currently 30-35k/week to 50-60 (depending on how this feels). Sound reasonable? Long term goals is to be able to run sub 1:30 in HIM and sub 3:30 for IM.

My worry is mostly the bike - I dont wanna enter next seasong without any punch on the bike. I have scheduled 1 weekly 2x20 session. Other than that, I will commute to and from work (approx 45 min 5 days a week). If I keep the bike at this - any best guesses as to where my bike-fitness will be come march?

*** Edited topic to reflect updated topic of thread ***
Last edited by: lovegoat: Oct 21, 15 0:52
Quote Reply
Re: How fast is bike fitness lost? (winter-run-focus) [lovegoat] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You haven't stated how much (if any) cycling you're going to do over the winter. I certainly wouldn't recommend dropping to zero - some easy riding can keep the cycling muscles ticking over and wouldn't be counter productive to a run focus.