Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

How common is high blood sugar for our cohort during physical exams
Quote | Reply
While arguing with my insurance on why I didn't receive monetary "awards" last year, i was told that my blood sugar was on the high side for my exam, which disqualified me from receiving a reduced deductible. I fasted before going to bed to the time of the exam.

As a background, I've been participating in endurance sports for the past 10+ years, running from 2004-2009 and cycling since then. While no one will mistake me for a climber, i'm relatively aerobically fit, with FTP ~4.5 at mass of 69kg. My HR in the morning (after a single espresso) is 51, and i'm presume that it'd be 5-6 beats lower prior to coffee.

Does anyone happen to have similar experiences?

Thanks in advance!
Quote Reply
Re: How common is high blood sugar for our cohort during physical exams [echappist] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've always had somewhat high fasting blood sugar levels. It hasn't climbed over the years, but I'm usually in the 100-110 level, and I think anything above 100 is considered high. Like you, I'm very fit and have a healthy diet. I don't know if it's connected to training or to the high level of simple carbs consumed as fuel, but it's always been concerning.

-Andrew
Quote Reply
Re: How common is high blood sugar for our cohort during physical exams [echappist] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What was the number? If you think it was abnormal, a $15 meter from CVS comes with 10 strips for you to test on your own.

What does your Dr say? That seems like a more important opinion than the insurance company.
Quote Reply
Re: How common is high blood sugar for our cohort during physical exams [Karl.n] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
X2, what was the fasting reading?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply