Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Hesitantly Leaning In..total newbie
Quote | Reply
Howdy All -

Well, I'm new here. Let's go ahead and establish that such that any bonehead mistakes are attributed to that and not just being a tool.

TLDR: I'm new, no experience, trying to break into the sport as an older guy, going to ask dumb questions - please forgive.

That said, name's Miles, 33 years old, live over here in DFW, Texas. I have a general athletic background, but no endurance training or racing experience. I'm in 'dad mode,' now, but I've this itch to be a multisport athlete for several years now. For about five years now I've had this nagging 'do a triathlon' cadence going in the back of my head. No idea why. I'm not a good runner or cyclist. I'm a pretty decent swimmer (read: I've lifeguarded, I taught swimming at all levels, taught open water lifeguard training, etc.). I also don't like suffering, which is a strange thing to say. But, before I get the 'leave please, sufferers only' I really like the idea that I can suffer and come through the other side. Ergo - endurance racing.

Philosophies aside, I just wanted to come introduce myself and kind of put out there my plan for the sake of accountability.